View Full Version : NSW Girls Singles and Pairs

14-07-2008, 01:04 PM

Megan Walsh claimed the honour of being the first winner of the NSW Under 18 Girls Singles title, when the inaugural Girls Championships were held at Windang Bowling Club, 11-13 July 2008.

Walsh, now a member of the Goulburn Railway BC, began her bowling career with Boorowa BC and has also played with Young BC and has recently been selected in the Under 18 State Squad.

Walsh defeated Natasha Van Eldik (Raymond Terrace) in a fitting final, gaining an advantage on the opening ends to lead 6-1, before Van Eldik rallied to level the scores. Walsh then piled on the pressure, drawing close shots and gained critical shots when Van Eldik narrowly missed with attacking shots to jump to a 16-7 advantage. Van Eldik once again rallied winning four of the next five ends to trail 15-17 and looked to have the momentum to go on an claim the title, but Walsh won two more ends to move to 20, needing just one to claim the title. Van Eldik would not give up and scored two further singles to trail 17-20. Walsh then piled on the pressure with two close shots and when Van Eldik’s attacking bowl glanced off the shot bowl and failed to move it, the end and the title belonged to Megan Walsh.

The perpetual trophy for the Championship was donated and presented by current Australian Squad member Katrina Wright. Wright, a former Bowls NSW Staff member, said she was delighted to be able to support the development of bowls for girls in NSW.

Walsh reached the final after a titanic struggle with Rebekkah Ramsay (Port Macquarie City) recovering from an early deficit to take the match 21-17, while Van Eldik also survived a tough battle with Allison Jeffrey (West Dubbo) prevailing 21-16.

The 2008 NSW Under 18 Girls Pairs title was won by Allison Jeffrey (West Dubbo) and Sarah Boddington (Huskisson), defeating Kenita Monks (Park Beach) and Suzana Stojcevska (Warilla) in the final.

Monks and Stojcevska took the early advantage in the final, leading until the second last end of the 13 end match, when Jeffery and Boddington scored a 2 to move to a 9-8 lead, before locking up match with one shot on the final end.

Monks and Stojcevska reached the final after upsetting the highly favoured pair of Australian Under 18 Representative Natahsa Van Eldik and reigning Australian Junior Girls Singles Champion, Louren Katague (Merrylands). Jeffery and Boddington accounted for NSW Under 18 Representatives Sarah Hillyer (Birrong) and Naomi Elliott (Cabramatta).

Special thanks is given to Illawarra Zone 16 Bowling Association for its sponsorship and support for the establishment of this wonderful event for the girls of NSW. Support from President Ernie Rowe and Secretary Norm Chant was vital to the staging of the event. Thanks also to Sue Snape, President of the IDWBA, who was impressed at the standard of play and spirit of the girls competing.

Windang BC was also magnificent in their support in staging the event. Presidents Les Robinson and Judy King have great teams in place. Bowls Coordinator Brett Pieper worked tirelessly, well supported by Board member Peter Tolias and a number of markers and volunteers. Special thanks also to Illawarra Zone 16 Umpires Cedric King and Bill Temple.

Photos and full results
http://www.rnswba.org.au/RNSWBA/jsp/c_p ... mentID=240 (http://www.rnswba.org.au/RNSWBA/jsp/c_press-release-item.jsp?elementID=240)