... torypage=0

McGuire family claim top prize
17 Apr, 2010 04:00 AM
Dubbo players have figured prominently in the Zone 4 Junior Championships held during this week at West Dubbo Bowling Club.
The three disciplines of Fours, Pairs and Singles attracted a strong contingent of under-18 boys and girls with the winner moving on to the State Championships at Warilla in the July school holidays.

On Monday, the Fours’ Championships began with a major upset in the very first round when West Dubbo’s McGuire family defeated Michael McIntyre’s highly fancied team on the last end.

Ryan, Keeden, Keeley and Trent McGuire overcame Tom Hull (Dubbo Railway), Alex Milgate (Gilgandra), Shaun Ellery (Parkes) and Michael McIntyre (Narromine) to progress to the final.

There they met and defeated the team of Jake Carmen (Dubbo City), Jake Waterhouse (Nyngan), Skye Moore (West Dubbo) and Claire Bennell (Coonabarabran) 17 shots to 12.

Earlier, Claire’s team just held out the up-and-coming youngsters of Hayden Barrow (Dubbo City), Bradley Barrow (Dubbo City), Jono Davis (Dubbo City) and Kalib Townsend (West Dubbo) by five shots.

In the Pairs’ Championships held Tuesday and Wednesday morning, Shaun Ellery and Michael McIntyre proved far too strong for Jake Carmen and Skye Moore, winning the final by 24 shots to 8.

In the semi-finals Shaun and Michael defeated Jake Waterhouse and Tom Hull, whilst Jake and Skye accounted for Keeden and Trent McGuire in their semi.

In the Singles’ Championships, 18 players entered and by Wednesday night only four players were left standing to fight out the finals on Thursday morning.

In the first semi-final, Michael McIntyre proved too good for last year’s winner Shaun Ellery triumphing 25 shots to 13.

This margin was repeated in the other semi, where Jake Waterhouse’s experience was far too much for Keeden McGuire.

The final was a one-horse race, with Narromine’s Michael McIntyre winning 31 shots to 2.

The exceptional sportsmanship and skills displayed by all contestants was of the highest order.

The support by parents, relatives and friends was also first-class, and comments about the tournament drew high praise from all in attendance.

Zone 4 Junior Convener, Dina Moore, and her hard-working committee comprising June Usher, Debbie Morrow and John Collins worked overtime to ensure the championships were a success and that prize money was on offer for the first time ever, which was appreciated by all the players.

West Dubbo Bowling Club, the official sponsors of junior bowls in the zone, did a marvellous job in providing quality facilities and greens for the championships.

The Zone 4 Junior Selectors also had a difficult time in choosing the Zone’s ‘7-a-Side’ squad for the State titles in August to be held at Port Macquarie.

After much deliberation, the following team was selected: Claire Bennell (Coonabarabran); Shaun Ellery (Parkes); Tom Hull (Dubbo Railway); Mitchell Mc Cann (Dubbo Railway); Trent McGuire (West Dubbo); Michael McIntyre (Narromine); Skye Moore (West Dubbo); Jake Waterhouse (Nyngan). Jake Carmen and Keeden McGuire were also chosen as non-touring reserves.