Recently I was watching an international game and noticed that the jack was sent back to be delivered by the opposing lead, because the front of the mat was not up to the nearest point to the ditch. The reason given was that the mat was not legal, therefore the jack delivery was not legal.
I used to think that the same logic applied to the mat not being placed on the correct line, but after some discussion with umpires, I was told that I misunderstood the rule and you simply move the mat to the correct line.
I accepted that but feel that I should double-check.
Is a mat not placed on the correct line not placed legally or is it OK to simply move it across and play on?